What are the Layers of the Skin

The skin consists of three layers, each serving distinct functions:

  1. The Epidermis: Positioned as the outermost layer, the thickness of the epidermis varies across different body regions. Notably, it is thickest at the palms and heels, and thinnest at the eyelids.
  2. The Dermis: This layer exclusively comprises living cells and houses various essential components such as sweat glands, hair follicles, nerve endings, and blood capillaries.
  3. The Subcutaneous Tissue: Serving as the innermost layer, the subcutaneous tissue is primarily composed of a layer of fat. Its thickness varies among individuals. This layer plays a vital role in regulating body temperature and acts as a protective barrier for internal organs against external impacts.